The Archive

Forestry SA Wood Sculpture Prize

2004 – 2012

Proudly sponsored by ForestrySA, City of Mount Gambier and the Hoo Hoo Club.

The prize was created in 2004 to promote the beauty and uses of wood while assisting in the cultural development of one of Australia’s most significant timber producing areas, the South East of South Australia. The winning artworks have been acquired into the Riddoch Art Gallery’s collection of sculptures and includes work by Bruce Armstrong, Tim Risley, Giuseppe Romeo, Tony Bishop, Guy Detot, Paul Jurazcek, Kevin Draper, Ted Johnson, Kevin Perkins, Matthew Harding and Billy Petyarre.

footer logo

1 Bay Road, Mount Gambier SA 5290
Phone 08 8721 2563

Monday to Friday 10am – 5pm
Saturday, Sunday & most Public Holidays 10am – 2pm



Receive invitations to special events and keep up-to-date with the latest at The Riddoch by joining our mailing list.


The City of Mount Gambier acknowledges the Boandik Peoples as the Traditional Custodians of the land and water our city sits upon today.

We respect and recognise the deep feelings of attachment and the spiritual relationship our Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples have with the land and water.

Image: Belinda Bonney, Reconciliation of the Nation: we all walk together as one (detail)